Something to Celebrate

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Posted on: October 1, 2012

I love banana bread and when I came across this recipe I found here, I knew I had to try it.  It was delicious!  The only change I made to the original recipe was halving the amount of sugar in the actual bread (I kept the sugar amounts used in the swirl and glaze the same).  Even with using half the amount of sugar, I thought the bread tasted sweet enough.  Probably because of the cinnamon sugar swirl in the middle and glaze on the top.  The recipe says you’ll need about 3 bananas.  I think the 3 bananas I used were on the small  side so if I made it again I’d use 4 bananas–the bread could have used a little more moisture.

Here is my version of the recipe:

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour (I used the Kroger Brand)
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1  tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 and 1/2 cups mashed very ripe banana (about 3 bananas if they large)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla greek yogurt 
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Cinnamon Swirl

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Simple Glaze

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 Tbsp heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.  In a separate large bowl, beat the brown sugar and butter with a stand or handheld mixer on medium speed until well blended – about 1 minute. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. With a wooden spoon, stir in the mashed banana, yogurt, and vanilla.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients. Do NOT overmix.  Batter will be thick.

Spoon half of the batter into prepared loaf pan.  Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar swirl ingredients.  Top with remaining batter. Bake for 40-45  minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes in the pan on a wire rack. Remove from pan and cool completely on the wire rack.

While the bread is cooling, make the glaze in a small bowl by combining the powdered sugar and heavy cream.  Add more powdered sugar until you reached desired thickness.  Drizzle over banana bread.

This blog also featured here.

3 Responses to "Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread"

yum! it looks delicious. I love this banana bread SO much. I’m glad you did too. Try another banana next time. :)

Yes, thanks for the awesome recipe! I keep my bananas in the freezer so sometimes one gets broken or I’m not sure what size one really is. Will def do a better job on my banana estimation next time :-) It was still really good though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

