Something to Celebrate

Double Chocolate Cookies

Posted on: October 8, 2012

We were in the cookie mood today and I came across this recipe for Double Chocolate Cookies.  We’re all chocolate fans around here plus I had all the ingredients on hand so Hannah and I whipped some up.

As I started to read the recipe, I noticed it called for an entire cup (2 sticks) of butter.  I happened to have some Greek Yogurt in my fridge and I read an article on-line about how you can sub Greek Yogurt for fat in recipes.  So I cut out HALF the fat in the original recipe by using just a 1/4 cup of yogurt plus 1 Tablespoon corn starch!  No one could tell I had cut half the fat out of the cookies–they were still chewy, moist and delicious.  So here is my recipe with the yogurt exchange:

Double Chocolate Cookies
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Tablespoon Corn Starch
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:
Beat butter and sugar together then add eggs (one at a time), vanilla and yogurt.  Stir in flour, cocoa, soda, corn starch and salt.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 8 to 10 minutes (mine took 10 minutes).

You have to try these cookies (especially warm out of the oven)!

Semi-sweet chocolate chips

Semi-sweet chocolate chips (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

5 Responses to "Double Chocolate Cookies"

I love the idea of putting yogurt in something that otherwise might be considered unhealthy. Surprisingly, everyone does not consider chocolate to be a food group. If were up to me, it would be right up there on the food pyramid.

Haha–I totally think it should be a food group, especially dark chocolate!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

