Something to Celebrate

Celebrate 2009!

Posted on: January 7, 2009

Sean and I enjoying the Stars Game

There are so many ways to bring in the new year and I hope you enjoyed however you celebrated the beginning of 2009!

My husband, Sean, and I took part in the huge New Year’s Eve Celebrate in Dallas’ Victory Park, otherwise known as Big D NYE.  Being the event planner that I am has tainted me in the way that I cannot attend ANY type of event without taking mental notes on things I would like to steal for my events and of course critiques of everything I thought went wrong. 

Since Santa brought Sean NYE Star’s tickets, we began with the hockey game at American Airlines Center in the heart of Victory Park.  We sat on the Platinum Level which gives you access to all of this really great food (which is the most important part of sporting events to me haha).  I had a BBQ Brisket Grilled Cheese on Jalapeno Cheddar bread and french fries hot outa the grease…ah healthy and delicious!

After the game (which the Stars WON by the way!) we SHOULD have gone straight out to the plaza to get a good spot for the main band, countdown and fireworks.  Instead, we opted to stay in the warmth as long as we could and chit- chat with a radio personality Sean used to work with.  We failed to realize that 25,000 others were already getting ready for the outdoor festivities.

By the time we got outside we did not even make it onto the plaza level.  The police stopped letting people in that area (that was closest to the stage) but we did manage to make it to the front of the “second place” area.  We stood there smushed up against strangers for almost 2 hours but it was fun doing the count down to 2009.  I was proud of myself for making it to midnight considering I’ve been on my 7.5 month old’s bed time for quite awhile 🙂

Here are my opinions on what was good and bad about this huge event!
LOVED IT:
*Food/bar options and restrooms on the Platinum Level inside American Airlines Center
*The bands playing prior to the game at Victory Plaza (way awesome stage–probably a $20,000 or more set up)
*Being able to see Channel 8 news personalities
*The gigantic screens in Victory Plaza allowing you to see everything going on.  The screens move too and come together to form one massive screen.  So cool!
*The count down with 25,000+ people
*My 2009 kiss with my hubbie

NOT SO IMPRESSIVE:
*There were about 5 Budweiser tents set up near the stage that sold beer, wine, champagne, and a few food items.  Unfortunately, only about 25 people could probably get to these tents since only the people on the plaza had access to them and they were so smushed up they couldn’t move.
*Not being able to access the plaza even though there was still lots of room there.  Everyone who had a Stars ticket should have been able to be in the prime area since we paid to be there.
*The crazy people who thought if they pushed hard enough somehow they would make it to the stage.  Annoying.
*The lame fireworks show after the count down.  I think Dallas could have afforded more.
*The 2 hours it tooks us to get out of the parking lot–traffic control anyone?

Despite the issues this event had, Sean and I still had an awesome time and will always remember the end of 2008 and the beginning of 2009.  I hope one of your New Year’s Resolutions is to celebrate more in 2009 because there’s always Something to Celebrate!  Happy New Year!

Something to Celebrate Services & Rates

Leave a Reply

