Something to Celebrate

Minnie Mouse, Pooh & Homemade Bread

Posted on: October 4, 2012

This week I made Hannah Minnie Mouse and Winnie the Pooh lunches.  She wasn’t as impressed with Pooh and I admit he does look like he is dieting but you can only make a slice of American Cheese so wide.  I think the preschooler is starting to be a bit of a lunch critic–maybe I should make something REALLY bad so that she appreciates my work more 🙂

I used Nutella to make Minnie’s ears and top part of her head.  I used a pink lady apple for the bow and a red bell pepper for the mouth (trying to work a veggie in here).

For the “Skinny Pooh” I used American Cheese, Nori (eyebrows and mouth), half a red grape, strawberries and raisins (eyes).  The face is sitting on top of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

I almost always need bread in my lunchbox creations so I have been keeping a loaf of homemade whole grain bread on hand.  My recipe is adapted from Marathon Mom’s Amish White Bread recipe.

The only change I made to her recipe is subbing white whole wheat flour for half the amount of flour the recipe calls for.  Another tip is I never use the entire 6 cups of flour or the bread is too dense and therefore tough.  I first put in the 3 cups of white whole wheat flour and then add in cups of all purpose flour until the dough is just a little sticky but able to be kneaded without making a huge mess.  I usually end up using about 5 1/2 cups of flour total.

This recipe is super easy, fast and I love that it makes two loaves of bread.  I wrap one loaf in saran wrap then put it in a freezer ziplock and stash it in the freezer until I’m ready for it.  Here is a picture of my fresh-baked bread:

Happy Baking & lunch making!

Leave a Reply

