Something to Celebrate

Raisin Bran Muffins

Posted on: January 22, 2013

MuffinsIn an effort to get a little more fiber in our lives, Hannah and I made Raisin Bran Muffins today. They are deliciously amazing & healthy. Bonus: I got to get rid of the rest of the Raisin Bran I had in my pantry that I was tired of eating for breakfast.

I created my own recipe after being inspired by this one.  I was trying to use what I had at home plus add in the flavors we really like.  I think they turned out great so try this recipe or use it as inspiration for your own!

Raisin Bran Muffins–Holly & Hannah style

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup prune puree’
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2 Omega 3 brand eggs
  • 1 c. buttermilk (I never have buttermilk on hand so I make my own by putting 1 T. white vinegar in a measuring cup and then filling with milk to make 1 cup)
  • 1 1/2 c. Raisin Bran cereal
  • 1/2 c. Rice Krispies cereal
  • 1/4 c. raisins
  • 1 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Instructions:
Mix in order and bake in muffin tin at 400 degrees for 12 – 15 minutes (mine took 12).  Let cool for 10 minutes then pop out of pan and enjoy with a little butter!  A little butter never hurt anyone, right?  This recipe made 12 muffins for me.  I filled the muffin cups 3/4 of the way full.

*This post linked up at New Nostalgia*

Leave a Reply

