Something to Celebrate

Homemade Valentine’s Day Goodies

Posted on: February 14, 2013

Today was all about getting treats made for Hannah’s preschool party tomorrow and making Valentine’s goodies to those we want to say “I love you’ to tomorrow.

First up, Red Velvet Whoopie Pies for Hannah and her classmates.  I used the same recipe from this post but I made them heart shaped for extra Valentine’s Day spirit.  Here is a photo of the completed pies:
005Hannah made some old fashioned valentines for her teachers.  I basically just cut her a heart out of red foam and let her go crazy with the glitter glue and silver hearts.  Then, Hannah & I decided some good tea would be fun to attach to the hearts since her teachers will probably be bombarded with sweets tomorrow.  Here is the finished product:
011What can I say, we love puns around here.  Our final project was chocolate covered strawberries and cake balls.

I had some of the cream cheese frosting I used for the whoopie pies left over so I mixed that with a homemade chocolate cake.  I bought this huge chunk of Ghiradelli dipping chocolate from Sam’s for only about $3.  It was perfect to coat the berries and cake balls and tastes delicious. I just melted it in a bowl set over a pan of boiling water.  This ensures your chocolate doesn’t burn.  Hannah thought pink and red sprinkles would be fabulous on both products and we also did coconut and sliced almonds on the berries.
006008009

And, since I don’t have a picture of Leia on here…
004

Happy Valentine’s Day!

1 Response to "Homemade Valentine’s Day Goodies"

So I guess I’ll know if you love me or not based on if I get something! Nice post. I don’t know where you find the time to have two kids, bake AND post about it. Super mom!

Leave a Reply

