Something to Celebrate

Homemade Hand Soap

Posted on: February 26, 2013

I know…you read the title and thought I have gone WAY too “Martha” on you. But I promise, this is so easy! You should try it if:

-You love a bargain (my only cost was the glycerin which was $1.75 for the amount in this recipe)
– You want to get rid of those bars of soap you never use. Come on, you know you swiped at least 3 from the last hotel you stayed at 🙂
– You want to be able to say, “Hey I made that soap!” after someone uses your restroom.

I won’t lie–the worst part of this entire process is grating the soap. I read on another blog that you can put the bar of soap in your blender to do the trick but I’m pretty sure my Kohl’s blender would explode if I did that. So I grated….and grated (just used the largest holes on my cheese grater). It really didn’t take that long. I just like to complain.

So, heat a gallon of water on your stove in a big pot (medium heat). Then add 2 Tablespoons glycerin (I got it from the pharmacy at Target) and the grated soap.  I also added about 10 drops of peppermint essential oil but this is just optional.  Here is what it looked like after I did this step and stirred for a few minutes:

image

Stir until all the soap has dissolved.  Then turn off the heat, cover it and let it sit overnight.  When I uncovered mine it seemed really thick but once I started stirring, it loosened up to a normal liquid hand soap consistency:

image

Then start filling your soap pumps or store in jars/plastic containers. I found that a funnel and soup ladle made filling containers easier:

image

Notice in the above photo that I refilled a liquid soap container from Bath and Body Works–Haha, BBW, I showed you!!!  I filled my 3 soap pumps, a pint jar for my mom and still had a large plastic rice bin container of soap left over for refills later!  Finished product:

image

When I used my new soap today I heard little “cha-ching” sounds in my head…ah I love saving money.   I got my homemade soap inspiration from this blog.

This post linked up at New Nostalgia and Women Living Well and Housewife How-To’s.

8 Responses to "Homemade Hand Soap"

I love it! There’s a box of hotel soaps under my bathroom sink, and no way on earth I’ll be able to use them all just showering. Thanks for sharing this!

If you haven’t already, I’d love if you’d come join my How To Tuesday link party, too.

http://housewifehowtos.com/link-party-2/how-to-tuesday-link-party-10/

Thanks for your comment and invite to link party–just joined! Love your site!

Found you on the How To Tuesday link party and love the idea of using up those little hotel soaps. Questions: Where do I buy glycerin? (I’ve never really looked for it before.) And, how much grated soap did you use? Does it matter?

I bought the glycerin from behind the Pharmacy counter at Target–just ask the pharmacist for liquid glycerin. I used about 8 oz. of soap–usually that is one bar but one of my bars was a little small so I used that plus a bar of hotel soap since those are pretty small. The recipe calls for one 8 oz. bar though. Hope this helps!

You can also grate the soap in a food processor. That is what I use when I make laundry soap.

Great idea! How do you like the homemade laundry soap? Do you find it works as well as the store bought kind?

[…] at Something to Celebrate made homemade hand soap, the hardest part of which she says is grating soap bars. Plus, Holly adds, “When I used my […]

[…] onekriegerchick 2. The Never Ending To Do List @ Healthy Roots, Happy Soul 3. Homemade Hand Soap @ Something To Celebrate 4. DiY Finishing Powder @ Accidentally Wonderful […]

Leave a Reply

